Find
Notify
Tools

Electronic Scales....... Help!
 Login/Join

<Fire Hawk>
posted
Okay,

I am considering buying a digital electronic scale. I see some different models that are in the $89-$109 range and others that cost a lot more.

Why would I want to buy the "better" scales or should I just buy the ~$100 scale and go reload?

What features are really important and which ones don't make a difference?

I appreciate your opinions and experiences.

Thanks! Fire Hawk

one of us
posted Hide Post
Fire Hawk
I highly recommend the Denver Instrument Accurate Load IV. I have been using mine for several years with not a single problem.

Posts: 16134 | Location: Texas | Registered: 06 April 2002Reply With Quote
<reload>
posted
RCBS makes a couple and RCBS is probably the best company to stand behind the goods they sell and give you the service you need if something ever goes wrong. Good Luck

one of us
posted Hide Post
i have been using a rcbs "partner" scale for about three years. when i first started using it i thought i had died and gone to heaven. my only regret is that i did not buy the next model with the 110 adapter!
GOOD LUCK and GOOD SHOOTING!!

Posts: 34 | Location: sebring,fl | Registered: 11 June 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I had a rcbs partner for a couple of years and didnot like it because it did not have an ac adapter. I always had a level of doubt in my mind wondering if the bateries were low. Also I did not heat the building where I load and that seemed to compound problems with the battery.

After some experiments inside my home(heated) and my outbuilding (not heated) I now have a rcbs scale with an adapter and a heated outbuilding and love them both.

Posts: 189 | Location: Asheville NC | Registered: 24 February 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I beleive that most of the branded scales (RCBS, etc. )are made by PACT. Why pay more for the same thing? As mentioned above, it is a good idea to get a model with the AC adapter.