Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Neck Turning & Neck Pressure on Bullet
 Login/Join

posted
I am kind of new to this precision reloading for competitive long range shooting and was
hoping some of the more experienced reloaders could answer a couple of questions on
neck turning and bullet to neck fit.
1 Is there a minimum wall thickness that must be maintained for safety?
I realize there should not be any undercut from the turning at the shoulder area, it must
be a smooth blend.
2 Is there a specific neck to bullet pressure or fit that gives the best accuracy?
Example: 0.0005” per side/ 0.001” per side, or is this something that needs to be experimented
with to find out just what works the best for my rifle and loads.
I am loading the 7mm WSM AI. The factory case was 2.095” long with neck wall that varied from
0.0175” to 0.0150”. I cleaned one up last night to see what I might come up with and the results
were as follows, I dialed the case in just past the shoulder on the main body to within .0005”
bored the ID to just clean up and turned the OD to just clean up and faced the case again to just clean
up. What I ended up with case length 2.090” with the face of the neck at 89.914° of perpendicularity
to body center line, wall at 0.0115” to 0.0117” only 0.0002” variation in thickness.
Any knowledgeable input would be appreciated.
Thanks
Bill

one of us
Picture of 243winxb
posted Hide Post
You lost me at "perpendicularity" Minimum wall thickness .010" so i have read. Measure a loaded rounds neck diameter with bullet seated on a turned neck. Bushing should be .002" smaller to start. You are using bushing dies, or custom dies i hope? Measure over the pressure ring if you bullet has one. After that try more or less. Most people turn necks to fit a tight neck chamber. I am no expert, so get a 2nd opinion. Check out the forums here > http://benchrest.com/index.shtml

Posts: 1295 | Location: USA | Registered: 21 May 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of woods
posted Hide Post