THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    RCBS Chargemaster starting to get zero drift, suggestions?

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

RCBS Chargemaster starting to get zero drift, suggestions?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I have an RCBS Chargemaster powder dispenser/electronic scale combo that I have happily used for several years. It has always given me great results but last week I staretd experiencing zero drift. I am talking about ~.3 grains after just about every charge thrown. I re-zero it and weigh the charge again and it comes within a tenth or two of the target weight. I no longer have a balance beam scale with which to double check things.

Has anyone experienced this? Is there some outside interference than can be causing it? Anything I can do to remedy it? I need to load ammo tomorrow so I can go on a trip the day after. Any suggestions or experiences are greatly appreicated!

Posts: 2509 | Location: Kisatchie National Forest, LA | Registered: 20 October 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Do you have flourescent lighting in your loading area? That cn affect an electrinic cale or powder measure.
Paul B.

Posts: 2814 | Location: Tucson AZ USA | Registered: 11 May 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Do you have flourescent lighting in your loading area?

Marc,

Yes, take a gander around the area where you are loading. Actually many common household appliances can disturb an electronic scale; such as too many electrical cables bundled together nearby, Flourescent Lighting, a Fuse Box, Washer, Dryer, Refrigerator, etc.

ALSO stable temperature and the slightest of drafts.

PLUS check the base of the Scale, powder granules under the feet, hard or soft surfaces.