Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Need advice
 Login/Join

posted
I have a CZ 527 American that I been shooting factory loads in and have decided to take the plung and get into reloading. I am new to reloading and have no equipment . I would like some advice on what to buy. I am starting from scratch so any advice you all can give is much appreciated. Thanks

Posts: 2 | Location: Texas | Registered: 11 October 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
You'll need to start with a reloading manual. Speer makes a good one and it is pretty inexpensive. All the manuals will have the same basic procedural info, some just have more reloading data. Study the manual for a couple of days, then buy a kit.

The kit should contain a single stage press. Single stage presses are easier to learn with and you will always have a need for a single stage press. Eventually you may want to add a turret press or other type of progressive press but you'll still need a single stage press for more tedious jobs.

I bought the Lee Aniversary Kit. It contains everthing you need except the specific dies that you will need. Many people dislike Lee because it is cheaper made. That being said, I have loaded thousands of rounds with mine without much problems. RCBS makes a more popular kit if you don't mind spending a little extra. Come to think of it, I would have just spent the extra money on RCBS if I had known how much I would enjoy reloading.

There are several good online distributers for all of your reloading needs. Midway USA comes to mind.

Good luck and enjoy!

Posts: 336 | Location: Alabama, U.S.A. | Registered: 19 February 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
1- Get a manual. Preferably from the company that makes the bullets your going to be using. Take it home and study it before going any further.
2- RCBS Rockchucker reloading kit (LEE's press & kit works, but I personaly prefer RCBS tools.