Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question about dies
 Login/Join

posted
I'm just getting started reloading and I'm kind of overwhelmed by all the different choices. I will be starting out reloading 22-250 for a bolt action rifle. Do I need 2 die set or 3? Do I need to worry just about neck sizing or the whole cartridge? I'm not looking to roll through thousands of rounds I just want accuracy.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
I'm just getting started reloading

Then I suggest you get a standard 2-die set from RCBS.

It will do about anything that needs to be done and as you gain finness you might want to neck size only at a later date.

Just get started and learn the basics!

Posts: 908 | Location: Western Colorado | Registered: 21 June 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
You'll need a 2 die set. If you're just starting out in reloading I would suggest that it would probably best if you follow standard procedure and full length size your fired brass. Once you're comfortable with handloading basics, then you can move on to partial full length sizing and/or neck sizing.

Posts: 8169 | Location: humboldt | Registered: 10 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by craigster:
You'll need a 2 die set. If you're just starting out in reloading I would suggest that it would probably best if you follow standard procedure and full length size your fired brass. Once you're comfortable with handloading basics, then you can move on to partial full length sizing and/or neck sizing.

thumb thumb
Hugely good advice here..

Don

one of us
posted Hide Post
The grossly tapered case body of the 22-250 Rem, along with it's 65K max SAAMI pressure, results in frequent case length trimming. To help solve this problem I'd buy the RCBS X-sizer die. X die instructions

For the accuracy part, I'd buy the competition seater made by Forster.