Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Case Sizing & Bolt Closure.
 Login/Join

posted
[Smile] I am a beginner at hand loading. Require explanation on the following.
I use a CZ 550 bolt action, in Cal .308 Win. I have 100-fired empty cases of federal match king (factory loads) used in my rifle. When an empty case is fed into the chamber and the bolt is closed there is no resistance or force required to close the bolt. (It is the same force required to close the bolt when it is closed without a round in the chamber).

When the cases are neck sized or full length sized using a set of new lyman dies, the case when introduced to the chamber offers more resistance to close the bolt. i.e.; there a greater force required to close the bolt. Sizing a few other brands to gave the same result.

I tried sizing a few cases of the same batch on my friends old LEE dies and found that the bolt closes as easily as when the bolt is closed without a round in the chamber.

1) Would like to know if this is a indication that something is wrong with the dies and if would be safe to use these case�s?
2) Also noted that fired case were of a length around � 2.007� to 2.013� and were found to increase in length to 2.018�upon sizing in Lyman die. Is this a normal occurrence?
3) Is the normal case length of a .308 case between 2.010� min to 2.015� max.?
4) Would cases shorter than 2.010� in length cause excess pressure upon firing?
5)What would be considered the minimum length of a reloadable case? Meaning at which lenght would you reject the case?

[ 07-09-2003, 21:13: Message edited by: Rhunu ]

<PaulS>
posted
Rhunu,
Put some lube on the inside of your necks with a brass brash - RCBS has a handle (green plastic) that you can screw a bore brush into. Roll the brush on your lube pad and stroke it a few times then resize the cases (neck size only)