New
Find
Notify
Tools

HORNET to Crimp or Not to Crimp
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have a .22 hornet and a CZ rifle. Together these spell fun. In the never ending quest for consistancy, I ordered a lee factory crimp die for the hornet.

I already use small pistol primers in an attempt to keep the initial ignition stablized.

I am pretty much shooting 13.0 of LIL GUN for everything (30 bergers though 40 gr Sierra).

I am now thinking that a small crimp might increase the containment and therefore further stablize the ignition consistancy.

Anybody crimping their .22 hornet?

Just for fun.... RC

one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm far from a Hornet expert, but I also use a factory crimp die on my handloads in this caliber. The case material of the Hornet is just so thin it seems hard to ensure consistent neck tension without a crimp.

- mike

The rifle is a noble weapon... It entices its bearer into primeval forests, into mountains and deserts untenanted by man. - Horace Kephart

Posts: 6653 | Location: Switzerland | Registered: 11 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
never crimped a hornet

Posts: 13460 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I tried crimping in the past, on standard and K's. Didn't seem to make any difference one way or the other.

Posts: 8169 | Location: humboldt | Registered: 10 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of ted thorn
posted Hide Post
I have never crimped my Hornet but it is a real shooter so it never crossed my mind.

I do love the H-LilGun powder it is simply the best powder I have ever run in my Hornet.

Posts: 7361 | Location: South East Missouri | Registered: 23 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
RC, got the same combo but I use H110. Never needed a crimp and never had a problem feeding and some have been long (scraping the front on the mag)

Posts: 158 | Location: South East England | Registered: 16 October 2008Reply With Quote