Find
Notify
Tools

Bullet Seating in the 300 Savage
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Zeke
posted
I've been loading for my M99-R for about three years now, always using the same Hornady 165gr flat-based Interlock and RL-15. I can load out to 2.612" and still chamber rounds fine. I keep 165 BTSP on hand for my Ishy 2A but never loaded the BT's in the Savage.

I have heard all the warnings about not using BT's in the M99 because of the bullet shank getting into the powder room. During my last loading session I ran out of the 165 flat-based bullets. I had 15 prepped cases, powder and all sitting there ready to go. I figured what the heck and loaded the rest up with the 165gr BT Interlock. There was no powder compression, I could hear powder in the case moving.

I went to the gravel pits to plink a bit and generally goof off. To my surprise the BT rounds did much better in the Savage than the flat-based bullets. Golf balls at 200 yards were no problem. The flat-based bullets did so-so.

So what is the big deal with the bullet shank getting into the powder room?

ZM

Posts: 655 | Location: Oregon Monsoon Central | Registered: 06 March 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Fjold
posted Hide Post
Some people worry about it all of the time but unless you are loading to 100% density and 100% pressure limit, it's no problem.

Frank

"I don't know what there is about buffalo that frightens me so.....He looks like he hates you personally. He looks like you owe him money."
- Robert Ruark, Horn of the Hunter, 1953

NRA Life, SAF Life, CRPA Life, DRSS lite

Posts: 12706 | Location: Kentucky, USA | Registered: 30 December 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
So what is the big deal with the bullet shank getting into the powder room?

It's really not a problem. The .300 Savage has a very short neck but I've seen BT bullets up to 180gr. loaded with no problems.

Posts: 49226 | Registered: 21 January 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post