Find
Notify
Tools

Learning the 40 S&W Blues
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Col K
posted
I recently picked up a HK P2000 in 40 S&W. A friend stopped by and gave me about 500 pieces of new brass along with 500, 180gr jacketed flat-nosed bullets made by Zero. Is anyone familiar with these bullets and/or reloading data for them? With all the warnings about reloading 40 S&W I’m beginning to feel embarrassed about not researching this before I bought one. I’ve been reloading for over 30 years but can’t remember ever seeing a cartridge that had so much “Voodoo†attached to it. I looked in the Sierra manual and their 180gr accuracy load is 4.6gr of Clays. In just about every other place, it seems that is about .5 grains over maximum. My bud also gave me 2000 180gr flat-nosed cast bullets (can’t remember name brand) and I’d hate like hell to trash them all because I can’t find data that supports a “safety range band†of powders where I can start. Also, it confuses me as to the supported and non-supported chamber concerns where it always says “Ask your…,†Hasn’t anyone come up with a list of which pistols are and aren’t? Okay, I’ve got it, Glocks aren’t, any others? Thanks for the help.

Posts: 350 | Location: GA by way of PA, OH, KY, TX, VA, and NC | Registered: 10 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Wink
posted Hide Post
I don't have any lists or any specific advice for your pistol, but my CZ 75 in 40 S&W hasn't been any different to reload than my .45 ACP, or my 7,65mm Browning. Use the same caution you would reloading any new-to-you caliber. CZ's have normal cut rifling and ramped barrel/support chamber.

AR, where the hopeless, hysterical hypochondriacs of history become the nattering nabobs of negativisim.

Posts: 7046 | Location: Rambouillet, France | Registered: 25 June 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post