Find
Notify
Tools

Need help with a load
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of b.martins
posted
I am new to reloading and I have developed only a few loads for two of my rifles (30.06 and 300 WM) using Vectan powder and Speer and Hornady 180 Grns bullets.
When trying to develop a load with the french GPA bullet (180 Grns) I got a very good result with the 300WM (less than 1MOA) but not with the 30.06.
I have reduced/increased the powder charge always with a very bad result: holes scattered all over the target and most of them very strange ones (each hole looking like made by two shots overlapping).
Can any one of you experienced reloaders tell me what is happening?

Thanks

B.Martins

Posts: 538 | Location: Lisboa,Portugal | Registered: 16 August 2001Reply With Quote
<Don Martin29>
posted
Those components are not common here but the twist of a 30/06 and 300 Win Mag are the same with most rifles.

How does it shoot with factory 30/06's?

one of us
Picture of b.martins
posted Hide Post
Don,

No problem with factory ammo.Its a Sauer-90 rifle I have been using for years and I can get about 1,5 MOA with most of the factory bullets.

B.Martins

Posts: 538 | Location: Lisboa,Portugal | Registered: 16 August 2001Reply With Quote
<Kimmo E>
posted
Maybe a change of powder will do it. Not every rifle like the same powder/bullet combination.

I am not familiar with the powder you use but if it`s a lot of space in the shell, then you are at max pressure i`ll think you should try a slower powder.

one of us
Picture of b.martins
posted Hide Post
Kimmo,

I am following the bullet manufacturer instructions, using the recommended amount of powder (52.3 Grns Vectan TU7000).
I believe your suggestion is a good one. I will try with TU8000 and see what it will bring.

Thank you.

B.Martins

<Kimmo E>
posted
the only 3006 i loaded for likes Norma MRP
61 grains for 180gr bullets.

Look for a powder with the listed max. 60-62gr.

MVH Kimmo

<Reloader66>
posted