Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

CASE TRIMMER
 Login/Join

posted
Who makes the best case trimmer looking to get a new one here and would like to hear what everyone is using or likes

Thank you

Pete

Posts: 11 | Location: Pa | Registered: 13 June 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Pete,
I'm no expert and have very limited handloading experience, but I can't imagine there is a simpler, more accurate or better value trimmer than what Lee manufactures. It can't go out of adjustment which I find is probably it's best feature and takes around 20-30 seconds to secure, trim, chamfer & polish a case. All for the price of half a dozen beers.
Tooooo easy.
Cheers.

Posts: 90 | Location: Sydney Australia | Registered: 04 July 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Boofhead, I have a question about the Lee trimmer. I have never used them, but from looking at the ones I have seen in the stores it appears that the pilot and trimmer head cut to length based on pilot contact with the web of the case. Have you ever used calipers on cases of a specific caliber from different manufacturers and different lots to see how much difference variations in web thickness can affect overall case length? It seems to me that this variance could cause problems in a chamber cut to minimum dimensions. I have been thinking about getting one or two calibers just to try them out and wanted a little more information.

Posts: 321 | Location: Tulsa, Ok. | Registered: 27 June 2001Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I prefer the RCBS Trim-Pro. I started out trimming cases on a Herter's (basically a Forster)and i just couldent get the length consistancy I wanted and changing cases out was very slow. The RCBS is very, very consistant and changing cases couldent be faster. A good value IMO.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I use the Lyman Electric one. I also, have a manual trimmer. We bought some of Lyman's "Acculine" trimmers but the would not give a consistantly accurate trim.