Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Anyone reload 460 S&W?
 Login/Join

posted
I'm new to the caliber and looking for a few good loads.
So far, I've got some data from Accurate and Hodgdon but I really want to find some decent bullets.
All I'm finding are the same old 45 bullets. Is anyone making anything like the Hornady factory loads?
I'd like to build a few loads with flatter trajectories at 100+ yards but don't see any bullets that look fitting.

Posts: 21 | Location: Dallas, TX | Registered: 24 April 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I load for my .460 and bullet selection is still pretty limited if you want to push them. Currently Hornady makes a 240gr & 300gr XTP Mag and Nosler makes the 260gr & 300gr HG Partition. I also buy hard cast 300gr TC GC from Ranger Rick in Alaska. He cast excellent bullets for various calibers and can be reached at RGIBSON38@HOTMAIL.COM

Be careful using standard bullets in this caliber, the gain twist rifling is hard on them if you push them.

Posts: 207 | Location: Central Ohio | Registered: 11 April 2007Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Thanks.

I'm using an Encore so gain twist doesn't apply here.
Unfortunately, I don't have the weight or muzzle brake either.

I'm working on the brake...

one of us
Picture of Scrollcutter
posted Hide Post
I have tried reloading the 460 and I'm pulling my hair out.

I've started way under max load working up to it and can't get within 4-5 grain without overloading. I haven't checked velocities with the loads, but it's a bit frustrating. It might be the primers. I'm using Fed 215's which are the magnum rifle, of course.

Roger Kehr
Kehr Engraving Company
(360)456-0831

Posts: 1634 | Location: Washington State | Registered: 29 December 2002Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
What do you mean overloading?
What components are you using?

One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by feets:
Thanks.

I'm using an Encore so gain twist doesn't apply here.