New
Find
Notify
Tools

Bullet Poll
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
How many people here prefer Hornady V-Max bullets to lets say Nosler B Tips. Do they do more damage?
I use Nosler, but so many people talk about the V-Max.

Posts: 78 | Location: In the woods of PA. | Registered: 30 September 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of hivelosity
posted Hide Post
I use both, 40grvmax in a222 and 55gr nosler bt in a22-250.
the 222 will only shoot lighter bullets.
As far a kill they both play hell on criters.

Posts: 2134 | Location: Ohio | Registered: 26 June 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I started shooting Black Hills 50gr VMax through my 223 before I got into reloading. When I started reloading I went right for the Hornady. It has always impressed me as a coyote size and smaller bullet, especially the noise of the impact. I have never loaded any other balistic tip bullets because the VMax has never failed me. I have compared the VMax to Nosler Balistic Tips side to side and the Nosler has more length, which tells me that it has a thicker copper jacket and that it won't come apart as violently as the VMax. I may be full of it, but that's what it looks like to me. Any way, give the VMax a shot and I think you will be very impressed.

Posts: 121 | Location: Prosser, WA | Registered: 12 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
let me preface this by saying that nosler is my bullet of choice at 100gr and above. i get the impression that this post concerned varmint type bullets. i shoot both 25/06 and 250 ackley improved. the 75gr V-max far outshines the 87gr nosler bt in both of my rifles. the V-max is one of the most accurate bullets of any description that i have eaer shot. i can't speak for 22 cal????? good luck and good shooting!!

Posts: 34 | Location: sebring,fl | Registered: 11 June 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of DesertRam
posted Hide Post