Find
Notify
Tools

Load development opinions for 7mm Mauser
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of browningguy
posted
As you guys know I'm pretty new at reloading and am currently working with my 275 Rigby (7X57 Mauser for you ordinary types), 24" Douglas barrel on a trued VZ24 action. I'm shooting the 154 gr. Hornady Interlok and currently using H4350 powder. I worked up a series of handloads from 42.8 grains, 44 grains and 45 grains. Hodgdon manual maxes at 42.5 grains and Lee goes from 43.6-49 grains, both with a 160 gr. bullet. These are four shot groups with each load, I also shot my normal S&B 173 gr. load. Temperature was around 90 today , wind 10-12 quartering from behind, haven't checked the actual humidity but damn did I sweat. Chrony was about 8' in front of muzzle, and I didn't even shoot it once.

S&B Factory Load:
173 gr. SPCE 2413 FPS, best 4 shot group about .9"

154 Gr. Hornady, H4350 Powder:
42.8 gr. Avg. 2438 FPS .862" group
44.0 gr. Avg. 2454 FPS 1.2" group
45.0 gr. Avg. 2513 FPS. .908" group

I'm still 4 grains below the Lee maximum, no signs at all of pressure problems, I had an experienced reloader look at the primers and he also thinks they show no pressure signs, no heavy bolt lift etc.

My question is, should I continue up another couple of grains to see what the groups look like or be satisfied with the current velocities?

Thanks for your opinions.

Posts: 1242 | Location: Houston, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
No, you cannot increase the load.
You must handload for 20 years, before you can upgrade your handloading license to overloader.

Also, 51,000 psi SAAMI max for 7x57mm is all that the brass and VZ24 action can take:
a) 7mm brass lacks the subtitles of design and heat treat of the 65kpsi 270 brass.