Find
Notify
Tools

Need Advice fast!!!!
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Born to Hunt
posted
I'm getting ready to order two dies sets: .223 Rem and .243 Win. Lee Deluxe die sets are cheap!!!! All my dies are RCBS. Will I be satisfied with the Lee dies. I have no experience with them at all.

Posts: 336 | Location: Kentucky | Registered: 03 December 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Nothing wrong with Lee dies. Have many and have duplicated some of them to see if there are better. I have yet to find anything that is really any better.

Posts: 40 | Location: Phoenix AZ. | Registered: 15 October 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of MLC
posted Hide Post
They work, but I'm much happier with RCBS or Hornady.

Posts: 233 | Location: Solebury, PA | Registered: 20 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Swede44mag
posted Hide Post
A lot of people like them I don't.

I have had problems with the pistol dies resizing the brass to small, when I wrote to Lee about it they said they never made any dies wrong so I tossed them in the trash.

I would recomend RCBS over Lee and Redding over RCBS.

Posts: 1608 | Location: Central, Kansas | Registered: 15 January 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Reloader
posted Hide Post
They work just as good as RCBS or Redding for me.

Reloader

Posts: 4146 | Location: North Louisiana | Registered: 18 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
While the Lee Collet die is useful the Lee FL sizer that I bought to see what they are like sizes the case too much. This "too much" is beyond the SAMMI specs. I marked it to send back the then the heck with it. They can't do any better than that for the low price.

The few Redding FL dies that I got were rough inside and required polishing. Conventional Redding dies will oil or air dent shoulders and bodies faster than RCBS dies will as they don't have a vent hole.