Notify
Tools

Big Bore Case Lube Question
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Austin Hunter
posted
I'm wondering if anyone else has experienced this:

I've been reloading for 4 years or so. For case lube during FL resizing, I always used the old school method with the roll pad, with some RCBS lube sprayed on it, then I hand rolled the cases on it, and then twisted/dragged the case mouth across the pad. Everything worked fine. A little messy. Used it from 243 Win all the way to 404 & 458 WM.

About a month ago I tried the Hornady spray lube - place all the case in a tray and spray them at once. Holy Smokes Batman! What I have been missing! SOOOOOO much easier on FL resizing, quicker, and a lot less mess. I was sold. I did probably 500-600 rounds recently with this method.

Well, I went to FL resize some 404 and 458 WM brass yesterday with the spray. I thought I was going to get a case stuck in the die. It was horrible. Tried more and less spray lube, nope. So for these cases, I went back to the RCBS spray lube and roll pad. Perfect, no issue.

Has anyone else ever experience this issue with big bore brass and lube you spray directly on the case?

Thanks!

BTW - I clean every single case in my ultrasonic cleaner after resizing/rimming/chamfering. And then rinse and blow dry with 100 psi air. I don't trust the "wipe off method" or that claim Hornady makes saying its spray doesn't contaminate powder or primers.

"Evil is powerless if the good are unafraid" -- Ronald Reagan

"Ignorance of The People gives strength to totalitarians."

Want to make just about anything work better? Keep the government as far away from it as possible, then step back and behold the wonderment and goodness.

Posts: 3080 | Location: Austin, Texas | Registered: 05 April 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
I load a lot of big bores and only use Hornsby lube in the little tub put on with fingers. I don't recommend spray. Too much solvent.