Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Total newb reduced load / powder question
 Login/Join

posted
I have never reloaded. I've been reading quite a bit (books and forums) over the last year to get some idea of what I'm getting into before I do it.

I love my 358 rifles, and want to start reloading for them. My question is about reduced loads and the powders used to achieve it.

I did find this recipe for a 358 reduced load: .358 Winchester - 200 grain Win. ST bullet, 29.5 grains SR 4759 powder, WLR primer, Winchester case. COL 2.765". MV 2170 fps in 25" test barrel. MAP 52,000 CUP. (Based on the IMR Smokeless Powder Reloader's Guide, April 2004

As I understand it, that 4759 powder burns slower and IMR states that powder works great for reduced loads. But I see the pressure numbers from that slower powder are up quite a bit.

Other places have mentioned using a smaller amount of fast burning powder for making reduced loads, or something like this (for 358Win): 20 grains of 2400 under this 290 grainer will break 1500 fps for near 1500 ft. lbs of muzzle punch. Yet it is an easy load with around 10 lbs of recoil. 10 grns of Unique will go around 1250 fps and near 1000 lbs of energy, again a fine training load or just for woods loafing, yet it can easily knock over a deer or black bear...

How does the burn rate of powder effect the felt recoil and muzzle noise amount?

If using slower burning powders, and you have your bullet almost up a the lands, are you risking too much pressure?

Do you use smaller amounts of fast powder for reduced loads, or just use a slower powder? I'm confused on what to do with that.

Thanks for the help- learning this stuff is really interesting to me

One of Us
posted Hide Post