New
Find
Notify
Tools

Hornady brass
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Does anyone have any comments on the new hornady brass that are out? I was going to try them for the 300WM if wall concentricity and thickness is as uniform as they say they are. I know guys have said hornady brass for the 6.5-284 were thicker (less case capacity) than desired, but I have only heard good reports for the .243 and 308 brass from hornady. Any comments? I do not neck turn and I target practice a whole lot more than I hunt. Do I need to go to lapua for consistant wall thickness and concentricity?

Posts: 395 | Location: Tremonton, UT | Registered: 20 April 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Alberta Canuck
posted Hide Post
Personally, I prefer Lapua for those chamberings for which they make brass. But, that is only because I have 10 years experience with Lapua and only about a year's experience with Hornady. Being a pretty conservative bloke and well pleased with Lapua products, I see no need to change horses in mid-stream.

I AM currently using Hormady brass for both my .405 Winchester and my .376 Steyr, and so far it seems like very good brass indeed. Time will tell, I guess....

AC

Posts: 9685 | Location: Cave Creek 85331, USA | Registered: 17 August 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Thanks AC. Do you think the hornady brass is softer than the Lapua?

Posts: 395 | Location: Tremonton, UT | Registered: 20 April 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have used their 405 Win and some 30-06. So far so good. I consider it on par with their competition.

ASS_CLOWN

Posts: 1673 | Location: MANY DIFFERENT PLACES | Registered: 14 May 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
ASS CLOWN,