Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

new brass
 Login/Join

posted
i'm new to reloading and i have a few bags of new brass and a few used cleaned cases, i have a neck resizing die but do i need to use a full length die on the new brass before loading it for the first time? i read that fireforming the brass is the best for accuracy and brass life, what is the first step in dealing with new brass?

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Typically the necks need to be trued by running the expander through them. Deburr and chamfer before loading.

One of Us
Picture of ted thorn
posted Hide Post
+1 on what Winchester 69 said.

Posts: 7361 | Location: South East Missouri | Registered: 23 November 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
If it's a hunting cartridge, I will full length size to insure functionality. Otherwise, you can just neck size to insure the necks are round.

LWD

Posts: 2104 | Location: Fort Worth, Texas | Registered: 16 April 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Grumulkin
posted Hide Post
It's a waste of time to resize new brass. Chamfering the case mouths makes the bullets seat easier so that's a good idea.

Posts: 2911 | Location: Ohio, U.S.A. | Registered: 31 March 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Doc
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Grumulkin:
It's a waste of time to resize new brass. Chamfering the case mouths makes the bullets seat easier so that's a good idea.

Even if the necks are not symmetric or even dented?

Ted Kennedy's car has killed more people than my guns

one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm also with the crowd that says don't bother fl sizing...just true em up with the sizing ball in and out of the case neck. It's always worked for me. The only brass I ever needed to fl size was some crappy privi brass from europe that needed the shoulder pushed back to chamber properly. Never had a problem with 1000's of new hornady, rem, norma, win brass. AND runnout was usually very very good just doing that.