THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Cork, felt, & fiber spacer Q's? Any difference?

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Cork, felt, & fiber spacer Q's? Any difference?
 Login/Join

<BMG>
posted
I'm new to reloading shotshells (have done rifle/pistol for many years) and have a couple of questions on filler/spacer material.

1) Cork, felt, fiber. Any real differences to look out for? Are they interchangeable within a load?
2) If shooting a 1 5/8oz 10ga load and it says (3) 1/4" felt spacers, can I:
..........(A) Use (6) 1/8" spacers?
..........(B) Use (1) 1/2" fiber and (1) 1/4" felt?

3) I've seen in some recepies that the majority of the spacers should go OVER the shot column (1 under & 4 over), this seems illogical to me as I would think it would blow the pattern to heck.

4) Overshot cards? .03" cardboard, Tyvec, none? Do they blow the pattern or not?

Thanks,
BMG

one of us
posted Hide Post
You mean they still make that old junk? Why would anyone (other than a hardcore BP shotgunner) even consider it today?
Use compression formed plastic hulls and modern wads. Stick to the "recipe" in the books. Shotgun reloading is "cookbook" reloading, unlike rifle and pistol.

Posts: 2124 | Location: Whittemore, MI, USA | Registered: 07 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Quarter Round
posted Hide Post