THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Re: Need advice: 416 weatherby: I'm new to reloading

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: Need advice: 416 weatherby: I'm new to reloading
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
RCBS makes all around the best stuff.
If it were me, I would get:
RCBS Rock Chucker Press
A set of RCBS dies, of Redding, or Forester because I know there are some crazy people out there that say you have to spend $500 dollars on a set of dies just so they work right, but for me, RCBS has never failed.
An RCBS 10-10 Powder Scale
For a powder measure, I like the Redding 30BR, it is great and throws accurate charges right down to the last grain.
Oh, and definately a Lee Hand Priming Tool. Hands down the best on the market: Fast, easy, and lets you feel if there is a problem when you are seating.

There is no need to go out and spend $1000 to get a top-of-the line setup.
For me, I have been loading with the aforementioned equipment for a million years, and never once have I had any problems that weren't my own fault.

www.cliffsgunsmithing.com

-Spencer

one of us
posted Hide Post
I've decided to go to just one rifle, a 416 weatherby. I haven't reloaded for nearly 30 yrs., (I'm 51), so I consider myself totally ignorant about reloading. My question to you guys is simply this: If money were no object and you were buying the equipment to use for the next 20 years (which I am), what reloading gear would you buy? I will probably reload 50-100 rounds a month. I also
may start reloading for a 454 casull handgun, but my main
interest is the rifle for the time being. The main thing I
want is to be able to load with real precision.

Any advice as to what brands are best, what type of equip., etc. would really be helpful.

Thanks,
Wes