New
Find
Notify
Tools

Why EXTREME?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I know that Hodgdon advertises their Extreme line of powder to be more resistant to effects caused by adverse hot and cold conditions. Any idea why this is or if there is even that much truth to it?

Posts: 193 | Location: Laramie, Wyoming | Registered: 01 October 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
There was a write up sometime back in the gun rags, where they tried different loads at different temperatures, and compared the results between the "Extreme" powders and the regular stuff. I can't remember the magazine, but I do recall the results proved the claims. FWIW - Dan

Posts: 5285 | Location: Alberta | Registered: 05 October 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post
My impression?

Market hype...

I have been reloading since the early 1960's, and shoot in temperatures that range from 125 above to 55 below (F). I have never had any problem with the powder not going "boom" when I pulled the trigger.

Posts: 3282 | Location: Saint Marie, Montana | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I believe the claims to a point. Those powders don't eliminate temperature influences, just minimize them. Also, Hodgdon is not the only company selling such powders.

Posts: 9647 | Location: Yankeetown, FL | Registered: 31 August 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I ran a whole set of tests on it.

In some cases, it works very well. In other cases, not well at all. 46 grains of Varget in a 308 gives me very nearly a zero temperature coefficient. But in a 223, the same powder is more temperature sensitive that the military rounds that are sold over the counter.

H4350 has about half the temperature coefficient of AA4350 in my 30-06.

I'm in the middle of a big four factor temperature test, using IMR4350 and H4350 in a 7.62x54R Finnish M39. In that test, there is no detectable difference in temperature coefficients of the powders.