Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

seating depth
 Login/Join

posted
I've been reloading for several decades and have always seated my high powered rifle bullets just off the lands by .001 to .002 and do so as it has delivered accuracy of single hole groups that prior to this method wasn't the case. However, recently I was informed by an honest to goodness expert stating this is not the way to improve your groups but to reather seat to industry C.O.A.L. depth. He states all the bench rest shooters are now using C.O.A.L data now. Additionally, my loads are always near, or in fact compressed. I'm not experiencing any pressure issues what so ever and can not find plausable reason for his, as a matter of fact method. What can any of you offer to either attest to mine or his method.

One of Us
Picture of 303Guy
posted Hide Post
Don't fix it if it aint broke! Wink

Regards
303Guy

Posts: 2518 | Location: New Zealand | Registered: 02 October 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Ol` Joe
posted Hide Post
I am no expert to be sure but, I think originally bench shooters loaded into the lands to help keep the bullets enterance into the lands as straight as possible and improve ignition. Today they have improved their runout and use powders and loads that give very consistant velocities without high initial resistance. Loading back from the lands also helps prevent the occasional dupmed powder in the action that results from the range officer calling a cease fire and having to open the action on an unfired cartridge.
This is speculation, as I said I`m no expert.

------------------------------------
The trouble with the Internet is that it's replacing masturbation as a leisure activity. ~Patrick Murray

"Why shouldn`t truth be stranger then fiction?
Fiction after all has to make sense." (Samual Clemens)

"Saepe errans, numquam dubitans --Frequently in error, never in doubt".

Posts: 2535 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 20 January 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post