Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

new to reloading
 Login/Join

posted
hey guys i am new to reloading and need some help i am reloading for a 300 wsm its a lee reloading press i just got in my die set and have every thing set up but when i got my die set it gave me a load data sheet to go off and i don't see the powder i have on there i was given several pounds of imr 4895 and imr 4831 i don't know how much powder to use im using hornady 165gr SST with Winchester brass and cci 250 large rifle mag primers any help ? thanks in advance

Posts: 1 | Location: United States | Registered: 17 February 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
i assume that since you are trying to use the data from the dies you do not have a loading manual? before you do anything else i would advise you to go out and purchase yourself a loading manual. the lyman 49th would be a good place to start. read that and then proceed. also just because you have some powder doesn't mean that it is suitable to use in that cartridge. i don't reload for 300wsm and do not have a load manual handy. i also do not use either of the powders you have listed so i don't know if they are suited for your needs but you definatly need to get some more info. there is a little more to it than just putting powder in the case and seating a bullet.

tell us a little more about you setup. do you have a scale to accompany the press and dies?

Posts: 300 | Location: louisiana | Registered: 04 January 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Buy a couple of manuals and read them. Refer to the data in one and compare it to the other to double check it.

Also there is data online.

Get the 'power' or optic that your eye likes instead of what someone else says.

When we go to the doctor they ask us what lens we like!

Do that with your optics.

One of Us
posted Hide Post

Posts: 8169 | Location: humboldt | Registered: 10 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Rusty
posted Hide Post