New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question on lead bullets for 44 Mag
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I've been reloading for my rifles and my 357 for 30 years but have only used jacketed bullets. I recently picked up a 44 MAG Blackhawk and would like to reload the less expensive lead bullets for it. I'm going to use the Hornady 240gr SWC lead bullets.

My question is: is there anything I must do differently with these lead bullets vs using jacketed bullets? Only thing I can find in the various reloading manuals is the comment that leading will likely occur when using lead vs jacketed bullets. Thanks.

NRA Life Member

Posts: 302 | Location: South Central PA | Registered: 22 April 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The bullets you bought are swaged and therefore very soft. I would be sure to keep the velocity below 900 fps or so. If you want to launch lead faster then you need to move to a harder cast rather than swaged bullet. Montana Bullet Works offers very fine cast bullets and they allow you to specify diameter as well as hardness for a number of bullets.

Posts: 1575 | Location: Either far north Idaho or Hill Country Texas depending upon the weather | Registered: 26 March 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by shootit:
...is there anything I must do differently with these lead bullets vs using jacketed bullets?

Yes. It is convention to spell 'boolit' when referring to those made from lead.

It should be obvious but you need to use lead boolit data, not jacketed even though they're the same weight.

Since lead boolits will be larger in diameter than jacketed, you'll need to bell the case mouth a bit to get them seated. Check your seater die periodically to make sure the lube has not built up causing each successive boolit to seat deaper than you intended.