New
Find
Notify
Tools

RCBS small base die=BIZARRO!
 Login/Join

Picture of Coal Miner
posted
May I first start by saying "hello" to all my fellow firearm enthusiasts as this is my first post on this forum. Im fairly new to reloading and have noticed something very peculiar. Im using the RCBS SB .308 die #15507 on a Dillon 650XL. Using my Hornady headspace gauge and Starret calipers I wanted to check the changes in case dimensions. I also used a Dillon .308 "drop in" case gauge to check my resized cases to SAAMI specs. The unusual thing is this. I set my die and all my "once shot" cases are being re-sized perfectly to specification. I then decided I should run my brand new Winchester .308 brass through the press. Many of the cases had deformed necks due to shipping ( nothing serious that would render it unusable,just needed some straitening out). Just for gits and shiggles I took some readings with my Hornady head case gauge equipped calipers and noticed something strange. I notice after re-sizing the new brass that the shoulder/datum line would push back several thousandths and when checked against my Dillon case gauge it would be undersized to SAAMI specs. All I can figure is that the cases are sized with a full length die at the Winchester factory and are being re sized to tighter specifications when I run it through the small base die. Here are some pics:

My calipers "zeroed" out:

My pre sized .308 "shot once" case measurement:

And then my resized measurement after running it through the RCBS small base die:

Dropped it in the Dillon case gauge and it's perfect.

This is the case neck of several of my new brass and the reason for my re sizing. Not to mention that I have had issues with some of my new brass not cambering in the past.

Now here is the new brass pre-sizing measurement:

And the post sizing measurement along with it nestled in my Dillon case gauge. Its hard to tell but the case is definitely below the minimum spec. shelf.