Find
Notify
Tools

mini 14 Reload
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Bob da Builder
posted
Im just getting into reloading and was wondering what bullets and powder would work best for my mini 14

"Do a good turn daily"
Eagle Scout, Troop 215

Posts: 31 | Location: Oregon | Registered: 24 August 2012Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I've been using BLC2 and 55 gr bullets, all makes, for years in my mini.
Recently bought some of the new CFE powder but haven't really tested it for accuracy/velocity yet.
I don't do anything special, no small base dies or such. Never had a problem except finding my brass since my mini throws it to hell and gone.

Pancho
LTC, USA, RET

"Participating in a gun buy-back program because you think that criminals have too many guns is like having yourself castrated because you think your neighbors have too many kids." Clint Eastwood

Give me Liberty or give me Corona.

Posts: 937 | Location: Roswell, NM | Registered: 02 December 2002Reply With Quote
Picture of Burgie
posted Hide Post
Hey Pancho, a guy at the shooting range had a good idea to save his brass when shooting his mini-14. He hooked his ball cap hat band on his scope and all his brass went into his cap and into a box he had on the bench. I have tried it and it works well for me. Just a good idea if you care to try it.........burgie out..............

one of us
posted Hide Post
My mini rides around in the dirt and dust with me and has to be ready on a moments notice. Wiley knows and usually takes off as soon as hears my Dodge. Usually, I don't take time to "ball cap" it. My buddies that don't reload know so they hand brass to me in grocery bags. I installed a Leupy 1.5x5x20, really makes it a shooter.

Pancho
LTC, USA, RET

"Participating in a gun buy-back program because you think that criminals have too many guns is like having yourself castrated because you think your neighbors have too many kids." Clint Eastwood

Give me Liberty or give me Corona.