450 Bushmaster
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of nitro450exp
posted
Just got one.
Brass and dies arrived.
I have Hornady XTP anf FTX bullets.

Anybody have experience with Berrys plated bullets in 0.452 ?
They say don't exceed 1250 fps.

Regards
Nitro

"Man is a predator or at least those of us that kill and eat our own meat are. The rest are scavengers, eating what others kill for them." Hugh Randall
DRSS, BASA
470 Krieghoff, 45-70 inserts, 12 ga paradox, 20 ga DR Simson/Schimmel, 12 ga DR O/U Famars, 12 ga DR SXS Greener

Posts: 813 | Location: USA / RSA | Registered: 14 January 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Dulltool17
posted Hide Post
Isn't the .452 a pistol bullet? I think that's the reason for the 1250 fps caution. I would think the 450 Bushmaster would take .458 bullets.

But I have no experience here, just wondering.

Doug Wilhelmi
NRA Life Member

Posts: 7503 | Location: Texas Hill Country | Registered: 15 October 2013Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of dpcd
posted Hide Post
No the 450 bushmaster is a pistol bullet thrower. Probably thinking of the 458 Socom, which is a true 458 rifle bullet user. I believe they now make a tougher pistol size bullet for use in the 450. I do not own one. Try them and the worse you will have is needing to clean the lead out of your gas port. I would try them.

Posts: 17294 | Location: USA | Registered: 02 August 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
DULLTOOL17...the 450 BM is .452" cal....NOT 0.458" Roll Eyes Confused

NITRO...Midway has several good bullets available for the velo produced by the 450 BM besides the Hornady bullets...PLUS Fury Bullets have several configurations and weights that I've tried and so far they all work very well...but DON'T use the LEHIGH Extreme Defense/Penetrator bullets in an AR platform...they hand up in the barrels bolt grooves...I KNOW as I have tried them...they are OK for a bolt gun tho'.