New
Find
Notify
Tools

Hunting load for .308
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Need a good hunting for a Remington 700 in .308. Prefer something in the 165 Nosler, 165 GameKing area but open to....this is for general hunting nothing larger than Mule Deer, and our mulies ain't that big!
Thanks
Sarge

I was a soldier * I am a soldier * I will always be a soldier
SFC,US Army, Retired
NRA Life
www.snipercountry.com

Posts: 60 | Location: Southern Area 51 | Registered: 27 December 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Hey Sarge,

You being in the Army (albeit retired)I guess you shot the M-14 from time to time? I loved mine in Ranger School, and afterwards. I was fortunate enough to attend the USA Marshmanship Training Unit's instructional seminar for two years in a row...the shooting teams, plus the guys from the sniper school gave us civillians two days of one on one @ Ft. Benning. In talking with the guys their favored accuracy load in the M-14 and M-1A was 43.0 grains of 4064 behind the 168 grain Sierra Match bullet. I used the load with great success and when using it for hunting just switched to a 165 grain ballistic tip or something similar. Worked great.

Will be using it tonight going after wild hogs raiding my deer property.

Use 210M primers and Federal match brass and you can't go wrong.

Rangers Lead the Way.

Posts: 373 | Location: Leesburg, GA | Registered: 22 October 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Grumulkin
posted Hide Post
Hank, your load is VERY similar to the one I came up with for my M1A and Encore 308 (including the cases and primers) after much experimentation. It's about the best I've found for the 308.

Posts: 2911 | Location: Ohio, U.S.A. | Registered: 31 March 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post