Find
Notify
Tools

Help a new guy with scales
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Born to Hunt
posted
I have read the posts concerning the powder scale combo. I'm sorry, but most of them are over my level of understanding at this point. I'm new and have yet to relaod the first cartridge. Believe it or not, I have been reading these posts for several months now. I have built a loading room in my basement. The lights are flourescent. Will that work?

I have an RCBS Rockchucker Master Reloading kit. It came with an "old style" scale. Is this accurate enough. Do I need a digital scale.

I hope to start reloading in January. So, I hope you guys don't mind a "Newbie" asking a lot of questions.

Posts: 336 | Location: Kentucky | Registered: 03 December 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Fluorescent lights should be fine. It is important to have plenty of light. This becomes even more important over the age of 45, when your lenses start to harden up, and you can't see very well up close.

Most mechanical scales can read to within .1 grain, which is all you need. Literally tons of ammo was reloaded before digital scales were invented.

Digital scales generally read to .1 grain also. A lot of guys prefer them, but I have yet to find any good reason to switch from mechanical. Try loading for a while, and see how you feel about it.

Posts: 2281 | Location: Layton, UT USA | Registered: 09 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
All the gadgets that guys talk about here either 1. make handloading go faster, or 2. make more accurate ammo. Unless you're trying to set the new worlds benchrest record just use what came in the kit from RCBS until you get your feet wet, so to speak. I loaded ammo on a single-stage RCBS press(not even compound leverage) and beam scale for 20 years before switching to a digital scale and Dillon progressive presses( yes, one for pistol and one for rifle).