New
Find
Notify
Tools

Neck sizing blues
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
First let me preface this by saying I've never done this before. After reading all the posts about neck sizing, better accuracy, longer case life, blah blah blah. I decided to try it. It's a used 7mm Mag I got from my little brother. He didn't like it and I swapped him a .270 for it. I got a Rem 700 in this caliber and now I have a Ruger also. But I found after neck sizing rounds fired from this rifle(the one we swapped) I couldn't rechamber the rounds. It looks like there is a slight bulge(brass is shiny) just above the thick band on the bottom of the case. Is this normal with this round? Or is the rifle a piece of crapola? No, I haven't tried it with my Rem 700 yet. I don't want a whole bunch more bullets to take apart.
Should I just F/L resize and forget the whole thing?

Posts: 258 | Location: Baltimore, Maryland US of A | Registered: 01 June 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Dutch
posted Hide Post
It SOUNDS like you might have an out of round chamber.

Here's "A" solution: smoke the shoulder of the case you want to size. Now, keep screwing the die down, until the shoulder smoke just starts disappearing. This will give you "minimum" shoulder bump. In almost all chambers, this will also give you some of the most accurate ammo, and maximum case life. HTH, Dutch.

Posts: 4564 | Location: Idaho Falls, ID, USA | Registered: 21 September 2000Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Here's simplier and less messy way to do the same thing. Take a red magic marker and coat the neck and shoulder of the case. Turn your die up a few turns, lube the case and run it up into the die. You can see where the sizing stopped because of the easily visible smearing of the red ink. Make sure there is still lube on the case...turn the die down a bit and do it again...keep doing this until red ink on the shoulder is "just" touched. This will give you about 2/1000" of a bump.