Find
Notify
Tools

Can I do this?
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of horsefly2
posted
I have been reloading for years and now need to do something I’ve never done before. I acquired a lot of once fired brass for my 270 and proceeded to neck size and load a couple hundred rounds. Turns out, they are really hard to chamber in my Model 700. Fired one and had to use a cleaning rod to get the case out!
I think I should have full length resized since they were not originally fired in my rifle. If I pull the bullets and powder, can I safely resize with the primers still seated?
Never done this before. Advice?

64,999,987 legal firearms owners killed no one yesterday.

Posts: 31 | Location: Maine | Registered: 14 January 2009Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of z1r
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by horsefly2:
I have been reloading for years and now need to do something I’ve never done before. I acquired a lot of once fired brass for my 270 and proceeded to neck size and load a couple hundred rounds. Turns out, they are really hard to chamber in my Model 700. Fired one and had to use a cleaning rod to get the case out!
I think I should have full length resized since they were not originally fired in my rifle. If I pull the bullets and powder, can I safely resize with the primers still seated?

Only if you remove the decapping rod first.

Aut vincere aut mori

Posts: 4862 | Location: Lakewood, CO | Registered: 07 February 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of TCLouis
posted Hide Post
Need only remove the decapping pin, the rest needs to be there to open the neck of the case.

Don't limit your challenges . . .
Challenge your limits

Posts: 4257 | Location: TN USA | Registered: 17 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
quote:
Need only remove the decapping pin

tu2

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post