New
Find
Notify
Tools

FL resizing question
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I'm new to reloading and I have a question about my resizing die. I have it set up so that the die and shell holder touch as in the directions and the class I took. However, when I go to chamber a round I find it very hard to close the bolt. I then used a marker on the casing to see where it was rubbing and found it to be the shoulders. How do I get my shoulders to move back more?

The bolt is not hard to open after fireing the gun and the same problems happen when using once fired factory casings.

Posts: 167 | Location: Eastern Shore of MD | Registered: 29 March 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Ol` Joe
posted Hide Post
Lube the inside of your necks to help keep the expander ball from pulling the shoulder back out. I`d also seat the die 1/8 - 1/4 more in the press. The press should "cam" over on contact with the die. See if these help.

Edited to add:

Some shoulder to chamber contact is accually not bad. The cartridge should chamber "easily" not necessarily freely, with out touching. The contact will help aline the round in the chamber and can aid accuracy. The trick is to get just enought contact.

Posts: 2535 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 20 January 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Sorry I ment to say to tight, I would try moving to die down a little as well and give it a good snug pull on the lever,,,,If you move it to far you will know with a crushed case

Posts: 376 | Location: Western, NC, USA | Registered: 29 April 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
The dies are are RCBS FL Die (2 dies) rifle set. New rifle brass fits fine into the rifle after being run through the dies once. I don't know if the chamber is to large but how would that affect it? Thanks.

Posts: 167 | Location: Eastern Shore of MD | Registered: 29 March 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I can think of two things fast,,