Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Brass Rotation Question
 Login/Join

posted
Newbie here has about 600 "once fired" brass (Fed.Match fired by me). My question is: which is the better way to manage the brass.

1.) Do most prefer to continue reloading the same 40 pieces of brass until they start to fail in a group way?
1A) If loading that way, should I throw out the whole batch of 40 brass when one or two fail, or should I just replace the failed ones and keep reloading the original 40 until individual failure?
or
2.) Should I rotate the entire 600 cartridges until all 600 have been shot twice, shot 3 times, etc., etc.? I ask this bearing in mind that brass may not be available AT ALL in the future sometime, and a mass brass failure of your whole supply would be highly regrettable.

Please don't just say "1" or "2", as I would like to hear you justify your choice as well as your logic. Smiler Thx

Posts: 2 | Location: Los Angeles | Registered: 06 March 2014Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Need more information. Caliber? Rifle or pistol? Straight wall or bottle neck. High pressure or low? Use: hunting, self defense, match, plinking...

Posts: 662 | Location: NW Colorado | Registered: 10 December 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I usually start out with 50 or 100 cases and consider that a unit. I will prep all 100. Then I will load whatever number I need to do whatever it is that I want to do: different powders, different bullets, different primers, etc. I don't reload all of them nor do I load all the different powders and all the different bullets, etc at one time. I will work with one or two different powders. Then I will work with one or two different bullets. After I have fired each case, it goes to the back of the line and I use some more of the prepped cases for my next trial. Once all of the cases have been fired, I prep them again and start over.