Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Overall length vs head space
 Login/Join

posted
I'm new to reloading and trying to have a good understanding before I begin loading for my 22-250.

My question is regarding bullet seat depth. I'm using the Hornady gauge to dertermine overall length. However, the shoulder is what actually determines bullet placement relative to the rifling correct? So, if the headspace on my brass is different then the modified brass I'm using to take overall measurements then the bullet placement will be incorrect right?

Also, how far off of the rifling is a good place to start?

One of Us
Picture of Sam
posted Hide Post
Head space and overall length are two separate measurements.

Head space is a measurement of the base of the cartridge to a datum line (a line of a certain circumference on the shoulder). This line is determined by the cartridge or parent cartridge. This is why some go no-go gauges work in more than one caliber.

So a rifle case/chamber is measured at a point midway up the shoulder. The case (trim to) length is from the base to the mouth. It’s a presumption that the case is already properly sized before it is trimmed.

The cartridge overall length is measured from base to bullet tip. Again a presumption of proper sizing is made. You can set back the shoulder too far (excess headspace) and still jam the bullet into the lands (over length). This is sometimes done intentionally when fire forming to move a shoulder out to a new dimension like Ackley shoulders.

To answer your question, the point on the ogive of the bullet that you are measuring is measured from the base of the cartridge. For a start 5 or 10 thousandths off the rifling. After you determine your most accurate charge you can adjust the length both ways to see what the best length is.

A bad day at the range is better than a good day at work.

Posts: 1254 | Location: Norfolk, Va | Registered: 27 December 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post