New
Find
Notify
Tools

wlr primers
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
i had a wlr primer rupture today while doing load work on a newly done GTR 3006 RIFLE. WLR LOT #CFL 4720.googled the wlr primers and saw others have hed same problem. 54gr. H4350& 168MK .010 off lands. starting load. just a heads up. hate to have a nice rifle damaged like that but i suppose Greg can fix it.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
The WLR and WLRM primers I have are undersize in diameter and fit loose in good new brass!

These primers are not plated with a nickel or chrome look like other primers have been but are just made from raw brass!

The lot #'s are DNL836G and DLL 212G

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Good to know. I have always liked the fact that Winchester primers are just a bit hotter than some other primers. I've been using WLR and WLRM primers almost exclusively for the last 3 years without a problem but, I will be more watchful and careful now reloading with them.

Start young, hunt hard, and enjoy God's bounty.

Posts: 383 | Location: Oklahoma | Registered: 24 December 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of lee440
posted Hide Post
WLR primers have been my primer of choice for 25 years but no more. Several months ago I finally ran out of my old stock and started into the new stuff. I always use a Lee hand priming tool because it is easy and it allows me to "feel" the size of the pocket in regards to pressures/case life, etc. I noticed that the primers were slipping in so easily that it felt like the pockets were expanded, they were not. I checked the WLR's with my calipers and they are undersize. I checked my CCI and Federal and they are all .210 and feel normal in my brass. Maybe it is the lack of plating, that makes sense. It may not really matter safety-wise, but I like the safety factor of being able to feel the condition of the pocket and Winchester took that away. The bean counters probably figured they could save money by eliminating the plating... go figure!