New
Find
Notify
Tools

Dies?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I see that many people realy like RCBS reloading equipment. I have no experience with it myself, I use a Lee press and Lee or Hornady dies, mostly they're a bit cheaper than the RCBS stuff. I now need to buy dies for a few more rifles. For hunting ammo, not benchrest accuracy, is there any big difference between any of the major die manufactures? Should I be thinking RCBS, Redding etc, or will Hornady do just as well? All opinions & comments appreciated. Thanks.

[ 02-16-2003, 23:05: Message edited by: Stu C ]

Posts: 1210 | Location: Zurich | Registered: 02 January 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bob338
posted Hide Post
Here we go on opinions. Probably Redding and Forster are the most accurately made dies, with RCBS, Lyman and Hornady a very close second. Lee is the low end of the bunch. I like them in the order listed.

Posts: 1261 | Location: Placerville, CA, US of A | Registered: 07 January 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I used to buy Lee because they were cheapest by a large margin.

Now that I use a concentricity gauge regularly I buy Redding -- they are well made and much easier to take apart, a useful trait if you expand case necks as a separate step. Redding does have good customer service.

However, every set is a little different and worth checking out. My first set of Redding .375 H&H dies produced absolutely perfect, zero-runout cases. I busted the decapping stem trying to unstick a case and the replacement was not nearly so perfect.

I've also had perfect performance from a set of Lee .223 Rem. dies and a Lyman .30-06 set.

John

Posts: 1246 | Location: Northern Virginia, USA | Registered: 02 June 2001Reply With Quote
<Big Stick>
posted
I'm a Redding Slut..........

one of us
posted Hide Post