Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Completely new to reloading
 Login/Join

posted
I am totally new to reloading & am looking for some advice.

I have settled on a Dillon 550 with the extras (bullet tray, low powder alarm etc) and thats as far as I have got.

I understand Redding Dies are considered by most as being the best, but what do I need to reload for my .223 Les Baer?

Basically what equipment do I ABSOLUTELY need & what is optional to reload the most accurate ammo for my target rifle?

one of us
Picture of Ol` Joe
posted Hide Post
The first thing to pick up is a GOOD manual or better yet two. I like the Lyman and new Nosler but they all have the basics and what you need listed in them. Don`t just look at the data, READ them. There may be things you quesion, ask here, you`ll find a lot of help explaining them to you.
The must haves you`re looking for are;
1-Dies & shell holder, full lenght for your semi auto
2-Powder Scale, RCBS,Redding Hornady, it doesn`t matter just have one.
3-A Powder Measure if you plan on useing your Dillon as a progressive.
4-Calipers
5-case trimmer, Lee has a cheap easy to use one that when used in a hand drill works OK for small batches of brass
6-deburring / chamfering tool
7-lube pad and lube
8-loading block

There are more tools you`ll want but this will get you started.

[ 06-18-2003, 22:50: Message edited by: Ol` Joe ]

Posts: 2535 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 20 January 2001Reply With Quote
<landtrain>
posted