New
Find
Notify
Tools

New brass reloading question (.375 H&H)
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I'm new to rifle reloading, but have reloaded .44mag quite a bit. I have a bag of brand new Winchester brass. (Also may be getting a bag of 75 once-fired Federal brass--address that too please)
1.)Should I just neck size it before fire-forming it? Then FL resize every so often?
2.)What are your favorite dies? (My son got me some RCBS dies for my birthday, but it does not include a neck size die. Do you mix die brands for intended purposes or just stay with one brand? Ie., RCBS for FL/Seating/Crimping or RCBS for FL, Lee for collet neck size and factory crimp? Just interested... Thanks, Scott

Posts: 51 | Location: Pacific Northwest | Registered: 11 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
1. Yes, neck size the new brass. It will be slightly out-of-round at the neck and the neck will only be approximately the right dimension for proper bullet tension before sizing.

2. You can neck size (unless your chamber is unusually large in the shoulder) with the FL sizing die by simply backing it off of the shell holder about a sixteenth of an inch or so.

3. There is no problem sizing with one brand of die and seating with another. The dies just need to be reasonably compatable with your chamber.

4. The once-fired brass may need only neck-sizing, partial resizing, or full-length resizing, depending on how the chamber it was fired in compares to the chamber of your gun. Try inserting a few cases in your chamber before sizing, then size only as much as needed to allow them to chamber freely.

5. Unless and until a fired case becomes difficult to rechamber, it is neither necessary nor desireable to full length size.

Have fun, and pay no attention to what any of the subsequent posters may say contradicting my advice.

Posts: 13243 | Location: Henly, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of jpb
posted Hide Post