New
Find
Notify
Tools

Some questions for Dillon owners.
 Login/Join

Picture of goose5
posted
I have been reloading for many years on a single stage press. I want to move up. I don't intend to compete, or shoot thousands of rounds a month. I have turned over the thought of a turret press. The thought of 4000 pulls for 1000 rounds does not appeal to me. So, a progressive will be on my bench and I know my monthly round count will be far below justifying said press. That's okay. I have been flirting with the Hornady LNL but I can't find any in stock right now.

My questions are for Dillon owners.

1. Some complain about slop in the tool head. Have you had any trouble with this?
2. I have noticed in many posts about..."I started out with a 550 but moved up to the 650." Why? Is the 650 worth the extra 100 dollars?

Posts: 9 | Location: Pueblo, Colorado | Registered: 07 January 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
hope i can help some - the slop in the head is fixed by just tightening up the screw holding in in place. I've had a 450,550 and now 650 and the operation of the 650 is much faster. You end up buying some extra stuff for it like the case fee, powder check etc. but you also have automatic case advance and an extra station should you want to taper crimp pistol rounds. Its a bit heavier than the 550 and quite a bit larger. also the die holder is removable in the 650, which means if you are using it for more that one thing the die changes are easy and preset. IMO i'd pay lots more for the 650 just to get the automatic case advance.

Posts: 13462 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Hey Goose5, what are you loading? Caliber(s)? And how much ammo do you want to reload?

If you only load for one handgun, the Dillon Square D is a great press. Lots of reliable, accurate ammo. A cop I know loads 100,000 rd per year on his (replaced 3 times in several years by Dillon at no cost).