Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

BEST POWDER FOR THE AR15 'S ??
 Login/Join

posted
I WOULD LIKE TO HEAR YOUR RECIPES FOR ACCURATE AND DEADLY LOADS FOR YOUR AR15.
I HAVE A BUSHMASTER VARMINTER....I HAVE BEEN LOADING W 748 IT IS PLENTY ACCURATE, BUT IS SEEMS LIKE A DIRTY POWDER.
ANYONE HAVE EXPERIENCE WITH H322 ???....OR WHAT ABOUT 2230?
ANY IDEAS WILL BE APPRECIATED.
THANKS
CKM

Posts: 20 | Location: FLINT HILLS OF KANSAS | Registered: 10 October 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Varget, Reloader 15, and TAC (by Ramshot).
All are clean, consistent, and accurate.
TAC flows through powder measures like water.
I use TAC with 50 grain Nosler Ballistic Tips (factory cosmetic seconds from Shooter's Pro Shop in Bend, OR).
Hmm hmm good!
JCN

Posts: 7158 | Location: Snake River | Registered: 02 February 2004Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
RL15 IS ABSOLUTLEY AWESOME IN BOTH OF MY .220 SWIFTS AND .22-250....BUT I DIDN'T REALIZE I COULD USE IT IN .223....ANYONE ELSE ON RL15 IN THE .223 ??
..PLEASE KEEP THE INFO ROLLING IN..
CKM

Posts: 20 | Location: FLINT HILLS OF KANSAS | Registered: 10 October 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
H-335 (also sold as WC-844) is the powder that was invented for the .223. MANY powders will work and work well in this caliber (IMR/H4895, BL-C2, AA 2230, and a whole host of others), but the velocity/pressure ratios that H-335 gives in this size case are excellent. Also, being a ball powder, it meters nicely. The original complaint about this powder was residue from the deterrent coating, but that was corrected many years ago. I use it almost exclusively in my .223's (both bolt and auto) and have had no reason to experiment further.

Posts: 13243 | Location: Henly, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Jay Gorski
posted Hide Post