THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Do I need to full length resize "NEW" brass?
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Jay Gorski
posted
Hello, I've never done it before, never had to, but when I talked to my B-I-L about how the 300WSM shot, he told me alot of them were going in kinda hard, he was thinking it was the 180 Ballistic tips, I told him they were all within spec as far as oal, 2.830", one actually wouldn't allow the bolt to be closed, I'm thinking maybe the shoulder needs to be pushed back, but why, these are new brass, they should be all at factory spec ready to go except for the mouth to be straightened out, which I always do, then do the chamfering, the rifle is a Browning A-bolt, what's been your experience as far as new brass goes, or is it a tight Browning chamber that's at fault? Jay

Posts: 1745 | Location: WI. | Registered: 19 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Beemanbee, I usually shoot 3 shot groups with magnum hunting rifles, the benchrest matches I've shot in were for 10 shots. Obviously a gun that will shoot 1/4" for 10 shots is in another league than one that will do it for 3. Also you might realize that there is a big difference in 1/4 to 1/3 MOA and 1/4 to 1/3". I don't have any hunting rifles that will shoot 1/3" groups at 300 yards but I do have a few that have shot sub .9" (apx 1/3 MOA) 3 shot groups at 300yds...............DJ

Posts: 3976 | Location: Oklahoma,USA | Registered: 27 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Jay--I'm curious--I live a block away from Bob. If they'd like.... have them drop off:

a fired case.
The one that wont got into the chamber
And one that will go into the chamber freely.

I'll measure them with my stoney point head space tool and drop them all back off at Wadale. Kraky

Posts: 2002 | Location: central wi | Registered: 13 September 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post