New
Find
Notify
Tools

Newbie Question
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Howdy guys. I am new to reloading and planning on buying the RCBS Supreme Master Kit. I am going to be reloading .40 S&W, .45 ACP a couple other pistol rounds and .308 and 7mm rifle to begin with. My question revolves around other things that are needed that dont come in the kit. Do you have to buy the RCBS dies, I am not saying I won't buy RCBS, but will other manufacturers dies work in the press? Are most/all presses universal as far as their fittings? I just have the RCBS #13 book, but have 3 other ones that should be at the house when I get home today. I assume there is not an issue using someone elses bullets in the Press, meaning I don't have to use just Speer in their stuff. That is about all I have for now, thanks in advance for any help.

Wes

----
Towards danger; but not too rashly, nor too straight

Posts: 100 | Location: Tampa | Registered: 05 February 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Most dies are a standard 7/8" thread so those dies - which most are - will work in your press.

You can use any bullets.

Get the book ABC's of reloading. It helped me a LOT when I first started - and still does today. Also, Metallic Cartridge Reloading by M.L. Pearson (sp?) is great too.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
besides books, find yourself an experienced reloader & have a talk with him.

Posts: 13462 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Cool WesN,

Transplanted Cracker (Tampa) living abroad!

Welcome to the world of reloading, your life has just taken a turn for the better - it's fun!

Corrsosion will be an issue with the humidity in Florida, you don't have to be a fanatic about it but make sure you are aware..... don't use a water based resizing die lube or the inside of your dies will be unhappy campers in the near future.

Cheers,

Gerry

Cheers,

Number 10