New
Find
Notify
Tools

168 TTSX Bullets
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I just bought some of these and have a new 30.06 to try them in. I have never used them before. Is there anything I should be aware of? I have H414, H4831SC, Retumbo, and Reloader 22. I was planning on using H414 and H4831sc? Where can I find load data for this. Thanks.

one of us
Picture of Blacktailer
posted Hide Post
You might try Barnes' website.
Just a note, your powder choices seem a little slow to me. I generally use something in the 4320,4350,4895 burn rate range for bullets lighter than 180's in the -06. YMMV.

Have gun- Will travel
The value of a trophy is computed directly in terms of personal investment in its acquisition. Robert Ruark

Posts: 3830 | Location: Cave Creek, AZ | Registered: 09 August 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thanks Blacktailer, I think I'm going to switch over to a different bullet after I shoot these up. I bought 100 of them but load data is not much around and I heard I can't use similar data for these bullets. I checked their website and they only had two powders they used one being 4350. I guess I will have to buy some? I used H4350 in my last 06 and didn't have much success I changed to H414 and it was slow, but it was deadly and accurate. I shoot a 165 at 2680 out of the 06 but get 5 shot groups under a inch at 100. I know 308 winchester loads that go faster but accuracy first for me. Thanks for the suggestions.

one of us
Picture of Doc
posted Hide Post
414 is one of the best powders for the 30.06.

Not sure why you want to change bullets though. The 168 Barnes is my favorite go-to bullet in my 30.06. I use H4350 with the TSX and Re19 with the TTSX. And frankly IMR4064 is a top choice as well and continues to produce extremely accurate loads for me and a couple of friends who all shoot the 30.06.