Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Lee Crimp Die Issue
 Login/Join

posted
I will freely admit here that I am a newbie in reloading.

When using the Lee Crimp die in .308, the loaded cartrdige does not engage the crimping collet to squeeze the neck. For the past hour I have been looking at it, and have been trying to figure it out.

The die itself is longer than the .308 cartridge. The only way that the crimping die would close onto the neck sides is if I push it into the die. WAY past where the shell holder stops on the end of the die.

I understand there is some "give" in this dies to let the crimping jaws close. But its at almost 1/2" off..... I got a .30-06 cartridge and the die worked perfectly in crimping the sides.

This Lee die I have is clearly maked .308 on the side.

Is there any adjustment to this die other than the outside thread and lock ring? Can the jaws in the die be moved to a lower elevation?

Or did I get a .30-06 crimping die accidentally labelled .308?

Please advise....

Thanks,

-Thed

one of us
posted Hide Post
I think that you got a 30-06 die. There is no adjustment on the dies for vatious length cases.
Lyle

"I would remind you that extremism in the defense of liberty is no vice. I would remind you also that moderation in the pursuit of justice is no virtue."
Barry M Goldwater.

Posts: 968 | Location: YUMA, ARIZONA | Registered: 12 August 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of woods
posted Hide Post
Hey Thed

Are you trying to crimp the neck onto the bullet after it has been seated with this

http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=448813

or size the neck with in order to hold the bullet with one of these

http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpage.exe/showproduct?saleitemid=555614