Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

.40 S & W Reloading Woes???
 Login/Join

posted
I have been pulling my hair out lately trying to get some .40 target ammo loaded. The trouble I'm having is bullet setback. The brass just plain won't hold a bullet tight and bullets seem to me to be seating way too easily. I can easily seat the bullet, even without using the expander die, and no matter how much crimp I use the bullets still can be pushed back into the case when pushed against a table. I've tried different brass, different bullets, and a different sizing die with varying results, but found nothing that consistently works. I have one type of brass (S&B) that will hold most of the time, but I've tried once fired Winchester, Federal, Speer, R-P brass and nothing seems to work. I called RCBS thinking it was a sizing die problem, and they said to send it in, but the other die that I tried doesn't help, so I don't think that's the problem. I'm at a complete loss. I'm relatively new to reloading, so I was hoping that someone on here could maybe point something out that I might be missing.

Thanks for any help you can provide,

Preston

Posts: 6 | Location: Utah | Registered: 10 March 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
You know what wouldn't hurt is get yourself a Lee Factory Crimp Die. They are on sale at midwayusa for $10.99. I like to use the factory crimp on all of my calibers especially in semi-autos.

"We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then is not an act, but a habit"--Aristotle (384BC-322BC)

Posts: 749 | Location: Central Montana | Registered: 17 October 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post