New
Find
Notify
Tools

Proper Use of Crimp with Regular Seating Die
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am relatively new to reloading. Reading the instructions with RCBS dies indicates that crimping can be done with the seating die.
1)Is this what would be called a taper crimp?
2)It seems that turning the die down to initiate the crimp also seems to alter the dimensions of the case shoulder making the finished cartridge more difficult to chamber.
What am I doing wrong? I am assuming that this should not be occuring. Note, I am adjusting the die down only 1/16 of a turn.
Thanks.

Posts: 97 | Location: Houston, TX USA | Registered: 17 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Ol` Joe
posted Hide Post
What cartridge? Various cartridges take different crimp types, tapered or rolled.

If you are loading a bottleneck cartridge such as the 223, `06 etc, not crimp normally needed. If the bullet doesn`t move under hand pressure or recoil I would not crimp. JMHO>

------------------------------------
The trouble with the Internet is that it's replacing masturbation as a leisure activity. ~Patrick Murray

"Why shouldn`t truth be stranger then fiction?
Fiction after all has to make sense." (Samual Clemens)

"Saepe errans, numquam dubitans --Frequently in error, never in doubt".

Posts: 2535 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 20 January 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
RCBS rifle dies are usually roll crimp! I load everything up to 338 win mag with out crimp and taper crimp with seperate die for straight wall pistol case's like 45acp and 9mm. If you roll crimp too much you will fold the sholder back causing chambering problems on bottleneck cartridges! and if you taper crimp too much on pistol cases it changes the shape of the bullet and will look good but may not chamber either! Hope that helps! Curly

Posts: 49 | Location: the Evergreen State | Registered: 01 April 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post