Find
Notify
Tools

A moly question
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Is Lyman Super Moly a good one to use?

Posts: 3785 | Location: B.C. Canada | Registered: 08 November 2005Reply With Quote
Administrator
posted Hide Post
I have no experience of the Lyman product, but we have been using the Outers spray on molly, and it works great.

I use it on all our hunting bullets.

www.accuratereloading.com
Instagram : ganyana2000

Posts: 68692 | Location: Dubai, UAE | Registered: 08 January 1998Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thank you very much! I'll locate some Outers.

Posts: 3785 | Location: B.C. Canada | Registered: 08 November 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I've used it to coat a few hundred bullets so far.It is the powder molly with ceramic media.I am happy with it.I will continue to coat all my bullets with it.You put 5 or more teaspoons of molly in the new media to get it ready for the bullets.Once you see the silver media turn black with unabsorbed molly you stop.Then you put in your bullets(I have tried hot and cold and don't see a difference) Your bullets will be completely covered in about an hour(50 bullets).You could go longer,for up to three hours but it doesn't make that much of a difference.Then you take your bullets out of the ceramic media (wear a glove,because a little goes a long way) and put them in some untreated corn cob media for no more than 5 minutes to polish the moly and give them a shinier appearance.They are now ready,but avoid touching them as the moly will come off at the early stages.The moly will stick on after a while and will not come off as easily,but will still come off if handled too much.

Posts: 11651 | Location: Montreal | Registered: 07 November 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I tried spraying moly from aerosol cans, but the carrier gets me high in one sniff.

I put the bullets on a cookie sheet, hold my breath, spray the bullets, and run away.