New
Find
Notify
Tools

7828 vs. 7828ssc
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I found a few pounds of 7828ssc which I've ordered (can't find regular in stock). My current load uses regular 7828 and I've got about two pounds left from about 2002. Since I'm changing from Partitions to A-Frames I figured I'd give ssc a shot. From my reading, it looks like the same data applies and it should be treated like a different lot of powder and I need to back off a little from my max load.

I'm looking for anybody's experience in differences between the two. Has anyone got experience with the two side by side?

Posts: 249 | Location: Colorado | Registered: 15 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have no experience with either however everything I've read sez WEIGHT for WEIGHT they are equal.

Aim for the exit hole

Posts: 4348 | Location: middle tenn | Registered: 09 December 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of moved2ski
posted Hide Post
I have found them to shoot the same.

Posts: 51 | Location: Las Vegas via Nebraska | Registered: 19 October 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Both good powders you get little better load density with IMR-7828ssc.

VFW

Posts: 1098 | Location: usa | Registered: 16 March 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have shot many rounds with both, always used the same load and got same results. I was so pleased I got two 8 pound containers (same lot) of the SSC and have enough excellent powder to last a long time. Good shooting.

phurley

Posts: 2363 | Location: KY | Registered: 22 September 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have used them side by side and they were the same. I like the ssc as it has a better load density and I can get more in the case easier Smiler

Matthew

Posts: 383 | Location: Oregon | Registered: 29 May 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post