THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

OK, no trash talking, just the facts on dies!!
 Login/Join

<Sawblade>
posted
I see everyone praising Redding, RCBS, and other dies, but most people seem to frown on owning Lee dies. Can anyone actually say that in side by side comparisons, Lee dies actually produced less accurate ammo?

I know I'm gonna get clobbered for this, but I'm new to reloading, so you'll have to pardon my ignorance!! [Big Grin]

one of us
posted Hide Post
Well Saw, it's like this for me. I personally can't say anything bad about Lee first-hand, based on my lack of using them. It's just that Redding & RCBS have always worked so good for me that I've seen no reason to change. Until I get that reason, Lee just won't be a part of my gear. And with other, proven, equipment, if I did ever have a reason to change, it wouldn't be to Lee.

Some things are a given, and some things are arguable. But, even if guys argue about whether Leupold, or Burris, or Nikon, or whoever makes the best scope, they don't even have to consider going to a Tasco or Bushnell if they ever feel the need to change.

I guess I'm like that with Lee products.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Everything you're not going to like about Lee, you'll see up front, I believe. Some of their stuff is made of cheap materials, almost always adequate to the task. Most of their stuff is inexpensive. Most or all of it works. Some of it works better than anything else anyone makes for less than ten times the price: Lee factory crimp die; Lee Target Loader (now owned by the long-defunct Mequon Corporation); Lee Cheap-Piece-of-Shit Powder measure that measures long-grained powder more accurately than any other powder measure; Lee Auto-Prime; original Lee hand priming tool. That's probably about half of the list.

Look at their stuff. If you don't gag, it will probably work just fine.